Conference Speakers

2023 Keynote Speakers

Traci Brown

Traci Brown

Fraud-Busting Body Language Expert Recently Ranked at the #5 Body Language Expert in the World.

Liar Liar Pants on Fire

July 16, 2023

TIME Magazine has named Traci Brown, CSP one of the Nation’s Top Deception Detection Experts NBC, CBS and FOX have asked this Fraud-Busting body language expert to reveal secrets hidden in plain sight.  She can help your team reveal the secrets your clients are keeping from you. Secrets that are impacting your bottom line.

Read More

She’s trained in the body language of deception detection right alongside our country’s top law enforcement.  And in her fast paced, interactive keynotes that are sure to entertain, Traci teaches the lie, fraud and identity theft detection skills she’s used to get to the truth in billion dollar business deals, crimes and politics.

You’ll be able to immediately use the same tools to  tell whose pants are on fire, stop fraud and create more success in your own organization and personal life… so you see more  zeroes (before the decimal) in your bank account.

Traci is a Three Time US Collegiate Cycling Champion and former member of Team USA.

She is a past president of the National Speaker’s Association Colorado Chapter and the author of four books including her latest,  How to Detect Lies, Fraud and Identity TheftAnd She’s the Executive Producer of a new TV series, Truth, Lies and CoverupsTraci earned her Certified Speaking Professional designation in 2020.  Wohoo!! She holds a degree in business from the University of Colorado. She is a certified master practitioner of Neuro Linguistics, Hypnosis and Hawaiian Huna.

John Van Dreal

John Van Dreal

School Psychologist & Safety/Security Expert

Youth Aggression: Identifying Risk Factors and Prevention Strategies on the School Bus

July 17, 2023

John Van Dreal is a school psychologist and the retired director of Safety and Risk Management Services for the Salem-Keizer School District in Oregon. He continues his career consulting with school districts and communities on behavioral threat assessment systems and violence prevention. 

Read More

He has over 35 years of experience in threat assessment and management, psycho-educational evaluation, crisis intervention, behavioral intervention, and security and risk management systems consultation.

In 1999, he began the development and implementation of the Salem-Keizer Cascade Model, a multi-agency student threat assessment system considered by experts to be a leading practice. Through that collaboration, he has worked daily with educators, law enforcement, trial court personnel, juvenile justice, and mental health personnel in preventive behavioral threat assessment—the management of youth and adult threats of aggression within the schools, institutions, and the community.

He served as Chair of Oregon’s Mid-Valley Student Threat Assessment Team from its inception in 2000 through 2015 and continues to provide consultation to its membership. He has served as a member of the Marion County Threat Advisory Team since 1999.

He is the editor and principal author of the book Assessing Student Threats: Implementing The Salem-Keizer System, Second Edition and has advised on, or contributed to, a number of threat assessment guides, publications, articles, and documentaries. His third book (authored with Courtenay McCarthy and Coleen Van Dreal), Preventing Youth Violence: The Pathway Back through Inclusion and Connection, was released in March 2022. He regularly provides training and consultation to audiences nationally on threat assessment systems, preventing and mitigating human violence, school security, and response options for violent intruder and active shooter situations.

John is dedicated to his own community, patronizing locally owned establishments and supporting nonprofit arts and human services organizations. He is a musician, a published poet, and a nationally renowned fine artist with paintings in several notable collections. Finally, he is lucky to be the partner of a gifted school counselor and the proud father of two brilliant adult children.

2022 Additional Speakers As of 7/15/22. subject to change

Chris Allen, CPST
Assistant Program Director
Community Council of Idaho

Tim Ammon
Co-Founder & Partner
Decision Support Group

Kathy Anneken, CPST
Easy Way Safety Systems

Peter Ashley
VP of Business Development
Applied Information

Megan Boutwell
Stillwater Associates

Jerry Brown
Director of Transportation
Vail School District

Herbert Byrd
Assistant Director of Transportation
Chesapeake Public Schools in Virginia

Brandon Coonrod
Assistant Director of Transportation
Portland Public Schools in Oregon

Zoheb Davar
Director, Business Development & Growth
The Mobility House

Denise Donaldson, CPST
Editor & Publisher
Safe Ride News

Chris Ellison
Director of Transportation
David Douglas School District in Oregon

Salliejo Evers
Comprehensive School Safety Specialist
Northeast Washington Educational Service District 101

Elliott Feldman
Program Manager
Schneider Electric

Teresa Fleming
Executive Director of Transportation
The School District of Philadelphia

Daniel Gage

Sue Gander
Director, Electric School Bus Initiative
World Resources Institute

Dr. Richard Hays
Cybersecurity State Coordinator Region IX
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency

Gabe Hightman
Territory Sales Manager
A-Z Bus Sales

Rosalyn Vann-Jackson
Executive Director of Enrollment & Student Services
Broken Arrow Public Schools in Oklahoma

Michael Laughlin
Vehicle Technology Integration Program Manager
U.S. Department of Energy

Miriam Manary
Lead Research Engineer, Biosciences
Transportation Research Institute
University of Michigan

Pamela McDonald

Katrina Morris
Director of Transportation
West Shore Educational Service Center in Michigan

Merrill Mueller, Jr.
Transportation Director
Algona Community School District in Iowa

Chris Mulhern
Assistant Director of Transportation
Washoe County School District in Nevada

David Murphy, CPST
HSM Transportation Solutions

Quincy Natay
Chinle Unified School District #24 in Arizona

Russ Newbold
Head Start Transportation Consultant

Linh Nguyen
Engineering Technician
Modesto Irrigation District

Alejandra Nunes (invited)
Deputy Assistant Administrator for Mobile Sources
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Esperanza Perez
Tribal Coordinator & School Bus Lead
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

Zach Pierce
Director of Transportation
Red Bluff Joint High School District in California

Tucker Perkins
Propane Education & Research Council

Tim Purvis
Chief Business Official
Pupil Transportation Information

Alexandra Robinson

Gilbert Blue Feather Rosas
Director of Sustainability & Adaptability
Modesto City Schools in California

Liz Sanchez
Executive Vice President

Jared Schnader
Director, National Bus Initiative

Sue Shutrump, CPST
Supervisor of OT/PT
Trumbull County ESD in Ohio

Wayne Southard
Engineering Associate
South Carolina Department of Education

Charlie Vits, CPST

Jennifer Vobis
Executive Director of Transportation
Clark County School District in Nevada

Bobby Williams
Assistant Director, Fleet Services
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD in Texas

Anthony Willis
Supervisor of Fleet Maintenance
Elk Grove Unified School District in California